I Believe, A Two-Faced Creed

Making Room For GodWhat do you believe?  I mean really believe.

I believe that I am a Christian, yet I gossip and spread lies about friends and family.

I believe that I do God’s Will, yet I do my own will each and everyday.

I believe to worship the Lord, yet I worship other things too: like money, my time and my family.

I believe that I listen and heed God’s Word, yet I read the bible each and every morning and walk out the door of my house and forget every word I just read.

I believe in going to Church and commit to changing my life, yet I walk out the doors of the church and yell at my kids.

I believe that I do the work of God, yet when I am asked what I do, I shy away from telling the truth.

My beliefs could go on and on.  I can claim to be anything, but my actions will speak louder than my words.  My life continues to be about me.  My selfishness wins constantly over my Christianity.

It is what I call a two-faced life.  I desire to be Christ-like, yet when it comes down to really doing it, I fall short.  I have my Christian friends and my non-Christian friends and depending on who I am with, I mold to what they need me to look like.  I am a chameleon.

I can say I believe, but do I really truly understand that concept?

Matthew 6:33 But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you

Finally, I realized in my life that I must release those who are not helping me with my mission: to get to heaven and to get my family to heaven.  I had to release those friends and family that weren’t inspiring me to be my unique self that God created me to be.  No in fact, they were leading me to be a “two-faced” individual just to make them comfortable.

Believing in God is not easy.  It is not something that will make you feel good at first.  In order to truly have confidence in God’s plan, we may feel a little uncomfortable.  We may lose friendships.  We may – just maybe – find our true self somewhere under all those different faces we have been putting on.

About aslamkowski

Blogger, Speaker and Author of "Revealing Faith: Learning to Place God First in Your Life" Most importantly, desperately wanting to hear and follow God's Will, wife of Peter and mother of three kids.
This entry was posted in Faith, Family, God, Jesus, Religion, Social Justice, Uncategorized, Women and Christianity and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to I Believe, A Two-Faced Creed

  1. Pingback: I Believe, A Two-Faced Creed « Brother Mosa Mahlaule

  2. themysticmom says:

    I especially love the last line! Beautiful!

  3. cherylbomar says:

    Honesty is so powerful. Thank you!

  4. Amber V says:

    Wow! So true! I love the way you break this down. We all make errors in this way!

  5. Wow. Wow, wow, wow!! What a beautiful post and what truth you speak!! I have been and done ALL of those things, and then beat myself up when I fall short. Thanks so much for sharing this and speaking the truth we can all relate to!!

    Kris Danko (OBS Small Group Leader)

  6. Brandy Harris says:

    This post is so honest! Thank you so much for your transparency. We all fall short each day, but we have a Father who loves us despite our shortcomings.

  7. Bronda says:

    How easy it is to fall into the trap of beating ourselves up when we should be beating up the enemy of our souls. Thank you for this truth!

  8. Rosemary Stevens says:

    Powerful, honest. Wow. Thank you for sharing

  9. Thank you so much for being so open and honest with all of us! Really needed to see this as I struggle with a lot of the same things you just mentioned. We together can all be the daughters He created us to be. Blessings! 🙂
    Raelene

  10. Melanie F. says:

    Excellent Anne and soooo true!

Leave a comment